Managing Stress and Anxiety While Traveling: My Stress Coping Strategies After Moving to Bulgaria

Mathilde Stansky
3 min readApr 13, 2023
Photo by Dannyel Spasov on Unsplash

Moving to a new country can be an exciting adventure, but it also comes with its own set of challenges. As an experienced traveler and digital nomad, I’ve faced my share of difficulties. Moving to Bulgaria has been no different. The weather, after living in the sunny Canary Islands for so long, has been a challenge. Although it is springtime, the skies are mostly grey, and it rains a lot. But I’m reminding myself of the reasons why I moved here and the opportunities that await me.

All of these factors cause a great deal of stress, making it hard for me to maintain a sense of balance and well-being. Finding a daily routine seems like an insurmountable task at times, and without stability, it’s difficult to make time for exercise or yoga. Even my skin is acting up due to new food, different spices, stress, and a new location.

The different time zone is also a challenge, as my body and mind are struggling to adjust. The two-hour difference between Fuerteventura and Bulgaria may not seem like much…

--

--

Mathilde Stansky

Nature lover, outdoor enthusiast, writer intrigued by neuromarketing and emerging tech. Embracing change, exploring possibilities, and writing about it all.